Only Sketch Mode

Hi, long time no see! It’s been a long time. Recently, I am busy to keep drawing and keeping my mood on. I am sorry I forgot to post all of my newest drawing here.

I am not very good in sketching. So I tried to improve my sketching skills. As always, I am still referencing. There are 3 sketches that I’ve did in November until December.

I made the first one by followed someone’s tutorial video in Facebook. I am sorry, I forgot the artist’s name. Maybe, I’ll find his posting later and mention him here. But I know that he is really into drawing characters with African root. Maybe you all know about him? Can you help me to find out his social media accounts?

At that day, he sketched a woman with big curly hair. The sketch was so beautiful, I can’t hold myself to followed his tutorial. Since I also falling in love with curly hair. Because for me curls is unique, it can also refers that our life is not always ‘straight’. I also love to drawing the variations. And this is the result:

Curly girl sketch.

One thing that I need to learn more is making some pencil gradation in my sketch. I never learned about that before. So I really happy when I did this in this curly girl sketch. I am happy that this woman look more mature than the girls that I usually draw. I often draw a young girl (about 18-23 years old). But in this sketch this woman look like 30 years old. I think I should learn more about decide character’s age too. And also the body anatomy of course.

I redrawn my old art for the second sketch. This is how the old art look like:

Girl with purple short hair.

I did this art on 2019, it’s almost 2 years ago. On that day, my drawing was bad. I didn’t really know about Medibang tools. Even I don’t know about the correction tool! Lol. That’s why this art look so greasy. One thing that make me happy is the colour variations and the shadow. It looks so great for me. I used pose application to made this art. All I do was followed the pose and the model hairstyle directly (a.k.a tracing). What a memory!

I know that her head is too big and not proportional. So, I decided to redrawn her with my current art style. This is the result:

The sketch

I am happy with this sketch. It’s kind of made me remember about my old art style. This art also not very proportional. The head is too small lol 😂. I wish I could fix this later. I love the colour gradation, it’s look natural. I still need to learn more.

Aaanndd, the last sketch. This is the most exciting one for me. It’s not about my improvement, but about HISTORY. The history of my family’s life. I made this sketch for my parents anniversary on December 14. They was married on 1996, so it’s mean they have been 24 years together.

This idea popped out when I saw some family pictures. There is one photo that really love to see. Here is the photo:

My parents romantic photo

This picture was taken in 1995. When they were still dating. I love the matching colour of their shirt, also the moment. They smile together, it’s very emotional to me. I can’t hold my happiness inside. I also feel granted, I feel so lucky that I am here. With them, with all people that I love. And this is how I turned it into my art piece:

My redraw

I never drawn a couple before, I was really nervous lol. Their pose was unusual for me to draw. I love the fact that I tried to draw the detailed background. Honestly, this is what I expected. It’s really great! Even I know, it need some color for some improvement.

What do think guys? Do you have any recommendation what to draw next? Let me know that in the comment section below 🙂

( Hai, lama gak jumpa. Rasanya udah lama banget ya. Belakangan aku sibuk buat bikin karya baru dan menjaga mood. Jadi lupa buat ngirim karya terbaru di sini.

Aku gak terlalu bagus dalam bikin sketsa. Jadi aku mencoba buat meningkatkan kemampuan. Seperti biasa aku masih pakai referensi. Ada 3 karya yang aku buat di bulan November sampai Desember lalu.

Aku bikin karya yang pertama dengan ngikutin salah satu video tutorial di Facebook. Tapi maaf, aku lupa siapa nama senimannya. Mungkin aku bakal menyebut namanya di sini nanti. Tapi yang aku tahu, dia berbakat banget dalam menggambar karakter dengan darah Afrika. Mungkin kalian tahu tentang dia? Bisa minta tolong untuk kasih tahu akun Instagramnya?

Waktu itu, dia bikin sketsa wanita dengan rambut ikal besar. Hasilnya cantik banget, aku gak bisa nahan diri buat ngikutin videonya. Selain itu, aku juga jatuh cinta sama rambut ikal. Karena menurut aku rambut ikal itu unik, dan menggambarkan barhwa hidup itu gak selalu ‘lurus’. Aku juga suka gambar hal yang bervariasi. Ini dia hasilnya:

Satu hal yang harus aku pelajari lebih yaitu bikin arsiran pensil di sketsa aku. Aku belum pernah belajar soal itu sebelumnya. Jadi aku seneng banget saat gambar wanita ini. Aku seneng karena wanita ini kelhatan lebih dewasa dari gadis-gadis yang biasa aku gambar. Aku sering gambar gasi muda (sekitar 18-23 tahun). Tapi di sketsa ini, wanita ini keliatan berumur 30 tahun. Aku rasa aku harus belajar lebih tentang menentukan umur karakter. Dan tentunya anatomi badannya juga.

Aku menggambar kembali karya lama aku untuk sketsa yang kedua. Ini dia hasilnya:

Aku gambar karya ini di tahun 22019. Waktu itu, gambar aku masih kurang bagus. Aku masih kurang tahu tentang alat-alat yang ada di Aplikasi Medibang. Bahkan aku gak tahu kalau ada correction tool di Medibang! Wkwk. Itu lah kenapa gambar ini keliatan berantakan. Satu hal yang bikin aku senang ialah kombinasi warnanya. Aku pakai aplikasi poser buat bikin karya ini. Yang aku lakukan adalah ngikutin langsung pose dan juga model rambutnya (alias menjimplak). Ah, jadi kangen!

Aku tahu ukuran kepalanya besar banget dan gak proporsional. Jadi aku mengambarnya ulang dengan gaya gambarku sekarang: Ini dia hasilnya:

Aku senang dengan sketsa ini. Aku jadi inget gaya lama aku. Sketsa ini juga gak begitu proporsional. Kepalanya terlalu kecil Wkwk 😂 . Aku harap aku bisa segera memperbaikinya. Aku suka gradasi warnanya, keliatan natural. Aku harus belajar lebih banyak lagi.

Daaannn, sketsa yang terakhir adalah yang paling menarik buat aku. Ini bukan soal peningkatan, tapi tentang SEJARAH. Sejarah keluarga aku. Aku bikin karya ini untuk ulang tahun pernikahan orangtua aku di tanggal 14 Desember. Mereka menikah di tahun 1996, jadi udah 24 tahun bersama.

Idenya muncul saat aku liat-liat foto-foto keluarga. Foto ini yang paling aku suka. Ini dia fotonya:

Foto ini diambil tahun 1995. waktu mereka pacaran. Aku suka warna baju mereka yang serasi, juga momennya. Merek tersenyum bersama, emosional banget buat aku. Aku gak bisa menahan rasa bahagia di dalam diri aku. Aku juga ngerasa bersyukur, aku beruntung aku ada di sini. Sama mereka, sama orang-orang yang aku sayang. Ini dia cara aku buat merubahnya jadi karya:

Aku gak pernah gambar pasangan sebelumnya, jadi aku gugup wkwk. Pose mereka juga gak biasa buat aku gambar. Aku suka saat aku menggambar latar belakangnya dengan detail. Sejujurnya, ini sesuai sama ekspektasi aku. Ini lumyan bagus! Meskipun aku tahu, karya ini butuh warna biar lebih bagus lagi.

Gimana menurut kalian? Apa kalian punya rekomendasi hal yang bisa digambar ke depannya? Kasih tahu aku di kolom komentar ya 🙂 )

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started